Glass, Cats and Family – all the ingredients for insanity

Sunburned…in Seattle

Yeah i know, i’m getting a lot of mileage out of the “in Seattle” thing, its a sickness.

Yesterday PJ took me fly fishing, i’ve never been fly fishing, done lots of fishing but mostly saltwater.

We went to a beautiful little lake just out of Seattle, its part of a resort and PJ and his fishing buddies have a deal where they stock it every year and fish it in the off season, its not off season now but there was not a soul there.

We took two small inflatable boats, mine was the normal kind so i didnt have to get wet feet, PJ’s had no bottom and he paddles it with big flippers and has to wear waders (thank goodness, cos I’m thinking i would have had trouble getting into the waders!)

20120802-104308.jpg
PJ ties his own flys, and they are teeny tiny works of art, check how small this is!

20120802-104414.jpg
He ties all different kinds, depending on what he’s fishing for and where.

20120802-104546.jpg
So i’m set up with all my gear, he slaps a life jacket on me (i’m thinking its overkill, basically we’re in a big pond but safety first), rod, net, oars…takeoff!

20120802-104824.jpg
This place is just stinkin pretty! He told me there are two bald eagles here and they should turn up sooner or later.

20120802-105128.jpg
We fish by rowing slowly up and down the lake, apparently its not the right time for dry flys, these flys are designed to sink just below the surface, it must work cos I caught two!

20120802-105337.jpg
The eagles turned up about midday, wow! On the wing they are pretty impressive. The male sat in a tall tree and watched us for ages, hoping I guess that we would chuck him a fish, I would have if I’d caught something small.

20120802-105621.jpg

Comments on: "Sunburned…in Seattle" (5)

  1. You must be taking good care of yourself PJ, you haven’t changed a bit since I met you in 2007 at AGI. 🙂

    Deb isn’t it amazing what other glassys will do for another glassy?

  2. Lovely to travel vicariously through you Deb. I feel like I’ve been to the gathering and am now on holiday with PJ. Ali

  3. Great photos Deb, BTW did you cook and eat the fish. Enjoying your travels. Jan

  4. Deb, I’m so happy that you have such a fun time here. Hopefully you’re coming back to many many Gatherings. I loved to hang out with you 🙂

  5. Karen, yep everybody has been wonderful, but PJ in particular has gone way above and beyond basic hospitality, I’ve had a wonderful time and I really couldn’t have come or stayed this long if not for him.

    Jan, yes, we ate the fish, they were delish!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

